The Road to Licensure: Past, Present, and Future.
 April 7th, 2022

This town hall event about the future of orthoptist licensure was presented by the Practice Management Committee of the AACO.  This FREE webinar is designed for orthoptists, physicians and administrators. Click on the link below to view the recorded event.

Program Agenda

Moderated by: Peggy Therriault, CO®

  • Welcome: Beth Colon, CO®
  • Introductory Comments: Robert Gold, MD
  • Acknowledging Orthoptists as Qualified, Niche Eye Care Providers: Past & Present: Kyle Arnoldi, CO®
  • The Next Step:  AOC Recognition as the Certifying Body for Orthoptists: Kim Merrill, CO® 
  • The Prep Work That Gives Us Direction: David Wheeler, MD
  • Sponsoring Organizations:  Getting by with a Little Help from our Friends: David Wheeler MD, Geoff Bradford MD 
  • Scope of Practice for Licensed Orthoptists: Coexistence with Organized Optometry: Alex Christoff, CO® 
  • Future Steps and Timeline: Aaron Miller, MD, Al Cossari, MD
  • Q&A: All speakers 

Robert Gold, MD
Vice-President, American Association for Pediatric Ophthalmology and Strabismus

Kyle Arnoldi, CO®
Editor-in-Chief, J BVOM
Program Director, REI Orthoptic Fellowship
Assistant Professor, Department of Ophthalmology University at Buffalo
Chair Emeritus, AACO Practice Management Committee

Kimberly Merrill, CO®
American Orthoptic Council, President 
Program Director, University of Minnesota Orthoptic Fellowship Program 
Adjunct Assistant Professor, Department of Ophthalmology & Visual Neurosciences 

David Wheeler, MD
Chair, Committee on Accreditation for Orthoptic Fellowship Programs (CoA-OFP) through CAAHEP
Child Eye Care Associates, Tigard, Oregon
Pediatric Ophthalmology and Adult Strabismus

Geoffrey Bradford, MD, MS
Professor, Director Residency Program, Vice-Chair of Education
J.W. Ruby Memorial Hospital, WVU Medicine Children's, Pediatric Ophthalmologist
Vision Screening Committee, AAPOS, Consultant 
Legislative Committee, AAPOS 
Member, Section on Ophthalmology of the AAP
Member, AOC


Alex Christoff, CO®
President, AACO
Orthoptist, Assistant Professor of Ophthalmology
The Johns Hopkins Wilmer Eye Institute

Aaron M Miller, MD, MBA, FAAP
American Academy of Ophthalmology, Secretary for Member Services
American Orthoptic Council, Past-President
Adjunct Assistant Professor of Ophthalmology, Blanton Eye Institute, Houston Methodist
Pediatric Ophthalmology and Adult Strabismus

Alfred J. CossariMD
Senior Pediatric Ophthalmology Group, Vice Chair 
Village Eye Care, Port Jefferson, NY
Pediatric Ophthalmology and Strabismus





























 Questions about the program or the Practice Management Committee?

Contact Committee Chair:
Beth Colon, CO, COT 
[email protected]